How to Become a Member of ICCA

Click on the blue link below for registration. (It is for becoming a member only and does not register you for any ICCA events.) Follow the prompts and fill out all information. Please register all coaches (head, assistant, and middle school) Print the membership summary and turn into your business office.

Click Here to Become a Member

Fees should be sent to ICCA/JoEllen Wesselmann, P.O. Box 207, Huxley, IA 50124

You are not official ICCA members until payment has been received.

ICCA does not confirm memberships. (Scroll down to see a current list of member schools, updated quarterly.) Contact JoEllen Wesselmann at with any questions concerning membership.

***After submitting your membership form, print the confirmation page as your receipt. You will need turn in this in to your school with your check request or as a receipt for reimbursement if you are paying by personal check.

Please submit your $45 membership check within 30 days to: 
JoEllen Wesselmann / ICCA
PO Box 207
Huxley, IA 50124

Membership Benefits

NEWSLETTER – The ICCA Newsletter will be emailed to members four times a year (August, November, February, and May) and offers current information about events and situations that involve cheerleaders and their coaches. Composed of articles submitted by Board and Rep Council members, the ICCA newsletter is free of advertising so the focus can be on information for the ICCA membership.

COACHES’ CONFERENCE – This annual conference is held in late March or early April. It offers many great speakers, and sessions to help coaches gain more knowledge in coaching their cheerleaders, and offers National Federation Coaches’ Training Courses. This is also a great place to network with other coaches.

AWARDS – ICCA gives several awards annually including Coach of the Year, Lifetime Achievement, Athletic Director/Administrator, Contributor of the Year, Years of Service, Friend of Cheerleading, and Sportsmanship.

FREE CLINICS – There are several free clinics held all over the state every August that are free for ICCA member coaches and their cheerleaders. Cheers, chants, jumps, and dances are taught at the clinics. Please notify your district rep if your school will be attending.

SCHOLARSHIPS – The ICCA proudly awards scholarships each year to graduating high school seniors. ICCA members may nominate cheerleaders from their own squads; each nominee must have a minimum of a 3.5 GPA. A team of judges outside of Iowa choose the winners based on recommendations and essays. Scholarships are also awarded at Honor Squad, State Championships, All-State, All-Stars, and Shrine Bowl.

HONOR SQUAD – The Iowa Cheer Honor Squad is a special squad sponsored by the ICCA and the IHSAA. Each ICCA member coach is allowed to nominate up to three varsity cheerleaders who are juniors and/or seniors. Criteria for choosing the cheerleaders is completely up to the coach. Up to 200 cheerleaders can be chosen for this squad. This squad performs their routine at the IHSAA State Football Championships in the UNI Dome.

ALL-STATE SQUAD – The Iowa All-State Cheerleading Squad is an ICCA/IHSAA sponsored select team. Any varsity cheerleader of an ICCA member can try out for the team. Tryouts are held in October, and a team of 20-45 of Iowa’s best cheerleaders is chosen. The team comes together and performs during half time of three of the Friday games during the IHSAA Boys’ State Basketball Tournament.

STATE CHAMPIONSHIPS – The State Championships are another ICCA and IHSAA sponsored event. This is a chance for high school cheer teams to compete against other teams around the state. Cheerleaders who compete have to be bona fide high school cheerleaders. Championship Divisions include: Cheer/Dance for 1A, 2A, 3A, 4A, and Coed; Group Stunt for 1A, 2A, 3A, 4A, and Coed; and the Time Out Cheer Division for Small and Large Schools.   The Championships are held in November at the Jacobson Exhibition Center and VI Building at the State Fairgrounds in Des Moines. Outstanding squads are also asked to perform at the Boys’ State Basketball Tournament in March.

ALL-STARS – The ICCA, in conjunction with the Iowa Basketball Coaches Association (IBCA), offers an opportunity for the best junior and senior cheerleaders in Iowa to come together to cheer for the Iowa All-Star basketball teams at their event held in March. Tryouts are completed by sending in a video with a short cheer incorporating strong motions, a short dance, and toe touch.

SHRINE BOWL – The ICCA partners with the Iowa Shriners at UNI in late July for the Shriner football game. They learn a choreographed routine and various cheers which are performed during the Shrine football game on Saturday. The cheerleaders, as well as the football players, are able to participate in the many wonderful activities hosted by the Shriners that week.

SPECIAL OLYMPICS – The cheerleaders go to Ames to learn a routine the morning of the Special Olympics Opening Ceremonies. The cheerleaders then hold a cheer clinic for the Special Olympic athletes in the afternoon. In the evening, the cheerleaders perform the routine during the Opening Ceremonies held at Hilton Coliseum.

ICCA Member Schools (last updated August 14, 2017)

ADM, Adel
Algona, Bishop Garrigan
Ankeny Centennial
B-G-M, Brooklyn
BCLUW, Conrad
Benton Community
Cardinal, Elson
Cedar Falls
Cedar Rapids, Jefferson
Center Point-Urbana
Central DeWitt
Central Lyon, Rock Rapids
Central, Elkader
Charles City
Clarinda Academy
Clarke, Osceola
Clayton Ridge, Guttenberg
Clear Creek-Amana
Columbus Catholic, Waterloo
Crestwood, Cresco
Dallas Center-Grimes
Davenport, West
Des Moines Christian
Dike-New Hartford
Don Bosco, Gilbertville
Dowling Catholic, West Des Moines
Dubuque, Hempstead
Eagle Grove
East Marshall, LeGrand
Forest City
Fort Dodge
Fort Madison
GMG, Garwin
Grand View Christian, Des Moines
Greene County
H-L-V, Victor
Interestate 35, Truro
Iowa City Liberty
Iowa City, City High
Iowa City, West
Iowa Falls-Alden
Kuemper Catholic, Carroll
Lake Mills
Linn-Mar, Marion
Manson Northwest Webster
Mid-Prairie, Wellman
Missouri Valley
MOC-Floyd Valley
Mount Ayr
Newman Catholic, Mason City
North Cedar, Stanwood
North Fayette Valley
North Mahaska, New Sharon
North Polk, Alleman
North Scott, Eldridge
North Union
North-Linn, Troy Mills
Northeast, Goose Lake
Northwood Kensett
Notre Dame, Burlington
PCM, Monroe
Pella Christian
Pleasant Valley
Prairie, Cedar Rapids
Saint Ansgar
Sioux City, West
South Hamilton, Jewell
South O’Brien, Paullina
South Tama County, Tama
South Winneshiek, Calmar
Southeast Polk
Southwest Valley
St. Albert, Council Bluffs
Tri-County Thornburg
Valley, West Des Moines
Vinton Shellsburg
Wapsie Valley, Fairbank
Waterloo East
Waverly-Shell Rock
Wayne, Corydon
Webster City
West Branch
West Central Valley, Stuart
West Delaware, Manchester
West Fork, Sheffield
West Hancock, Britt
West Liberty
West Marshall, State Center
Xavier, Cedar Rapids